

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number:

Agenda Item Number: 25

Agenda Date: December 16, 2021

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Pre-K 4 SA

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Dr. Sarah Baray

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Citywide

SUBJECT:

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointments

SUMMARY:

This item approves recommendations for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the Mayor and City Council Districts 3 and 9 whose term ended on May 31, 2021.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) Board of Directors is comprised of 11 Board Members. In accordance with the Pre-K 4 SA bylaws, the Board of Directors is appointed by the City Council and the Mayor, with each City Council member appointing one member and the Mayor's appointee serving as the Chairperson of the Board. District appointees do not have to reside in the City Council District for which they are serving, but they do need to have residency in the City of San Antonio.

Board Members serve two-year staggered terms. Appointees of odd-numbered City Council Districts served a term of two years beginning in 2019 and ending on May 31, 2021. The new two-year term begins June 1, 2021 and ends May 31, 2023. The even-numbered City Council Districts appointments also serve a two-year term that will end on May 31, 2022.

The current Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors, their respective City Council Districts, and expiration dates of terms are reflected on the attached roster.

ISSUE:

The Mayor and Council Member Phyllis Viagran have recommended reappointing the existing Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Members to serve their respective Districts. The Council Member John Courage has recommended appointing the current appointee from District 1. The incumbent Pre-K 4 SA Board Members have expressed a willingness to serve an additional term, and staff is supportive of the Mayor's and City Council Members' decisions to recommend the reappointment of the existing Board Members.

The list below identifies the incumbent Pre-K 4 SA Board Members being recommended for reappointment.

Mayor's Appointee - Elaine Mendoza

Elaine Mendoza is the Founder, President and CEO of Conceptual MindWorks, Inc. She received her Bachelor of Science Degree in Aerospace Engineering from Texas A&M University, has served on the Board of Regents of the Texas A&M University System, is a member of SA2020, and has served as Co-Chair for the P16 Council Formation Committee and Task Force on Corporate Recruitment and Retention.

District 3 Appointee - Joseph De La Garza

Joseph "Joe" De La Garza Jr. is Senior Vice President of Commercial Lending at Jefferson Bank. Joe served as the Board Chair on the South SA Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, and still remains active on the board. He has also served on the Board of Directors for AVANCE San Antonio, SA Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, San Antonio Local Development CO Inc (Renamed "LiftFund"), and the Barrio Comprehensive Family Health Clinic.

District 9 Appointee - Dr. Richard Middleton

Dr. Richard Middleton served as the Vice President of the Southwestern Region Office for the College Board from 2011 to 2016. He is the former Superintendent of North East Independent School District (1990 to 2011), and served two terms on the Board of Directors for the Carnegie Foundation.

The new term for the Mayor's Appointee and appointees of Districts 3 and 9 will begin on June 1, 2021 and last through May 31, 2023.

A new appointee will be identified for District 1. District 5 representative Gloria Ramirez will remain in holdover status, and District 7 representative, Frances Guzman, has already been reappointed.

ALTERNATIVES:

City staff worked with each of the City Council Members to provide them alternative Board appointee options. The recommendations herein are consistent with the City Council Districts' input.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this item.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the City Council approve the reappointment of members for the Mayor's Appointee and City Council Districts 3 and 9 to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors.