State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



Meeting Minutes

Public Comment Session

City Hall Complex San Antonio, Texas 78205

2021 – 2023 Council Members

Mayor Ron Nirenberg Mario Bravo, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2 Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3 | Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4 Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6 Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8 John Courage, Dist. 9 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

5:00 PM

Municipal Plaza Building

The City Council convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 5:06 PM. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Council Members present:

PRESENT: 7 –Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Castillo, Pelaez, Courage, Perry**ABSENT:**Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval

PUBLIC HEARING

1. Public hearing regarding a Strategic Partnership Agreement between the City of San Antonio and the Medina County Fresh Water Supply District No. 5 in the City of San Antonio's extraterritorial

jurisdiction in Bexar County and Medina County. [Roderick Sanchez, Assistant City Manager; Bridgett White, Director, Planning]

Mayor Nirenberg opened the Public Hearing at 5:06 PM, read the Item caption, noted that there were no persons signed up to speak and closed the Public Hearing at 5:07 PM.

PUBLIC COMMENT

2. Public Comment is your opportunity to address your City of San Antonio elected officials directly about issues that are important to you and your community. To sign up to speak visit www.saspeakup.com. Click on meetings and events and select the meeting you'd like to participate in. Sign up to speak or submit a written comment. Members of the public are given up to three minutes to speak, and groups are given up to nine minutes.

Christopher Mayorga, a resident of City Council District 10 spoke in support of the SA Climate Ready Energy Awareness Benchmarking Ordinance, improved energy efficiency to help the electric grid.

Terry Burns, former president of the Sierra Club spoke in support of the SA Climate Ready Energy Awareness Benchmarking Ordinance and urged City Council to adopt the policy without delay.

DeeDee Belmares a member of the SA Climate Ready Technical and Community Advisory Committee and a member of the Democratic Socialists of America spoke in support of the SA Climate Ready Plan and urged City leaders to challenge CPS Energy to close the Spruce coal energy plant and consider alternative energy sources.

Jesse Ortega said he attended a meeting last week and mentioned an incident that happened at his home. Ortega told a story about his mother falling ill and the paramedics taking her vitals when a group of motorcycles roared around his home. Ortega asked if this was ever reported.

Maureen Galindo spoke regarding the impact of trauma and ways to reduce trauma. Galindo spoke in support of autonomous choice for housing, childcare and transportation. Galindo requested an investigation of the closure of the Labor Street Daycare.

Tabitha Guardiola member of the Southwest Worker's Union said the government was supposed to be regulating businesses and spoke in support of the SA Climate Ready Energy Awareness Benchmarking Ordinance.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further comment, meeting was adjourned at 5:25 PM.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg Mayor

Attest:

Debbie Racca-Sittre City Clerk