## City of San Antonio





# AGENDA San Antonio Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission Executive Committee Meeting

Monday, September 12, 2022

6:30 PM-8:00 PM

Claude Black Center 2805 E Commerce St 78203

A MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF SAN ANTONIO DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. COMMISSION WILL BE HELD IN THE CLAUDE BLACK CENTER, 2805 E. COMMERCE, SAN ANTONIO, TX 78203 AT THE ABOVE REFERENCED DATE AND TIME. ONCE A QUORUM IS ESTABLISHED, THE SAN ANTONIO DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. COMMISSION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING:

- 1. Roll Call: Josette Bellinger-Ivory, Secretary
- 2. Call to Order: Dwayne Robinson, MLK Commission Chair
- 3. Opening Prayer & MLK Quote: Commissioner Francine Prosser-Johnson, Chair, Public Awards
- 4. Remarks and/or Announcements from District 2 City Councilmember and City Liaisons: LeReta Gatlin-McDavid, District 2 Council Office MLK Commission Liaison The Honorable Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, District 2 Councilmember John Peterek, Assistant to the City Manager | City Liaison- Introduction of a Project Manager for the Stage Lucero Gomez, Office of Government and Public Affairs- Introduction of new Board Liaison
- 5. Public Comments
- **6.** Le Reta Gatlin-McDavid, District 2 Councilman Jalen McKee-Rodriguez MLK Commission Liaison- Selection of a Project Manager, Portal Dates and Submissions selection
- 7. MLK Commission Appointments and Roles: Dwayne Robinson Commission Chair and Le Reta Gatlin-McDavid, MLK Liaison to the Councilman
- 8. MLK Commission Vice Chair- Dr. Doshie Piper- Summary of Workshop Surveys and Next Steps for Strategic Planning
- 9. Treasurer (Commissioner Russell LeDay) and Budget/Finance Committee (Commissioner

## Jay Maurice Gibbs, Committee Chair) Report (Action Item)

A. 2022 Revenues & Expenses- What does it look like going into 2023?

## 10. Committee Reports

- A. Wreath Laying Ceremony Harold Moore & Mary Fulton Moore, Committee Co-Chairs
- B. Fundraising Le Reta Gatlin-McDavid and Dr. Doshie Piper for Porchia Waiters,
  Committee Chair
- C. Commemorative Program Mia Morris, Committee Chair
- D. Scholarship Program Dr. George Williams, Committee Chair
- E. Youth Empowerment Summit Deborah Warner, Committee Chair (In absentia)
- 11. Calendar for Executive, Committees and General Meetings- MLK Committee Chairs
- 12. Reports from March Sub Committees- Dana Lockridge and Linda Tippins
- **13. Benediction & Closing MLK Quote: Commissioner Francine Prosser-Johnson**, Committee Chair, Public Awards

#### 14. Adjourn

In compliance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, at any time during the meeting, the Board may meet in executive session under Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code, including consultation with an attorney.

#### **ACCESSIBILITY STATEMENT**

This meeting site is accessible to persons with disabilities. Parking is available. Auxiliary Aids and Services are available upon request (Interpreters for the Deaf must be requested forty-eight [48] hours prior to the meeting). For Assistance, Call 210-207-7268 Voice/TTY.

#### DECLARACIÓN DE ACCESIBILIDAD

Esta reunión es accesible a personas incapacitadas. Se hará disponible el esta¬cionamiento. Equipo y servicios adicionales (interpretes para los sordos) se harán disponibles si se pide con cuarenta y ocho (48) horas de anticipación a la reunión. Para asistencia llame al 210-207-7268 por voz / servicio de TTY.