State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



Meeting Minutes Public Comment Session

City Hall Complex San Antonio, Texas 78205

2021 – 2023 Council Members

Mayor Ron Nirenberg

Mario Bravo, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2

Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3 | Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4

Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6

Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8

John Courage, Dist. 9 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

5:00 PM

Municipal Plaza Building

The City Council convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 5:04 PM. Interim City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Council Members present:

PRESENT: 6 – Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello Havrda

ABSENT: 5 - Viagran, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, Perry

PUBLIC COMMENT

1. Public Comment is your opportunity to address your City of San Antonio elected officials directly about issues that are important to you and your community. To sign up to speak visit www.saspeakup.com. Click on meetings and events and select the meeting you'd like to participate in. Sign up to speak or submit a written comment. Members of the public are given up to three minutes to speak, and groups are given up to nine minutes.

Page 1 of 3

Jane Warsaw urged the City Council not to vote until there was independent oversight without union influence. She noted that Houston, Dallas, Austin, and Fort Worth had independent review boards.

Ananda Tomas stated that community members were concerned about the civilian oversight system. She noted that San Antonio had the weakest system and we as a community and City Council did not have a say on its makeup. She added that the Police Contract was used as a template for police contracts across nation. She urged the City Council to consider voting no on the Police Contract.

Chris Baecker stated that the revenue for SA Ready to Work should go back into the economy which would come back in sales revenue.

Tiffany O'Neill stated that she was glad that the City stood firm on its commitments and had made meaningful progress but that was only the first step to ensure racial equity in policing. She noted that the citizens of San Antonio were behind the police, but this would not continue if transgressions continued to occur.

Carter Fanning stated that sales tax revenues were higher than expected and the extra revenue should be given back to citizens.

Scarlett Pacheco urged the City Council to vote against the Police contract. She noted that the City needed an independent civilian review board. She stated that civilians had a right to a voice over the Police Department and not one influenced by the police union.

Esperanza Urbina recommended that the City focus on transparency and accountability and build trust between residents and police. She urged the City Council to vote no on the Police Contract.

Steve Huerta asked the City Council to consider building the trust of community and institutions of our democracy. He noted that the Police Department was filled with men and women of integrity, but there were Police Officers that should not be there.

Debra Montez Felder stated that there must be citizen oversight outside of the Police Contract where SAPD would have no control.

Celeste Brown stated that San Antonio was the only city in the State of Texas that did not have a citizen-only review board. She encouraged the City Council to pause and add that in.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 5:30 PM.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg Mayor

Attest:

Debbie Racca-Sittre Interim City Clerk