# **City of San Antonio**



### Minutes

## **Governance Committee**

#### 2021 – 2023 Council Members

Mayor Ron Nirenberg Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6 Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8 |John Courage, Dist. 9

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

10:00 AM

**City Council Chambers** 

The Governance Committee convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 10:02 AM. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Committee Members present:

<b>Members Present:</b>	Ron Nirenberg, Chair
	Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Member
	Melissa Cabello Havrda, Member
	Manny Pelaez, Member
	John Courage, Member

Members Absent: None

#### **Approval of Minutes**

#### 1. Approval of the minutes from the Governance Committee meeting on May 25, 2022.

Councilmember Cabello Havrda moved to Approve the minutes from the Governance Committee meeting on May 25, 2022. Councilmember Rocha Garcia seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:	Nirenberg, Rocha Garcia, Cabello Havrda, Courage
Absent:	Pelaez

Councilmember Pelaez joined the meeting after the vote on the minutes had been taken.

#### **Briefing and Possible Action on**

2. Reappointment of current Trustees of the North Sector and the Southeast Quadrant of

# the San Antonio Water System (SAWS) Board of Trustees. [Debbie Racca-Sittre, City Clerk]

Mayor Nirenberg asked Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison and Marilu Reyna to provide a brief statement. Both provided opening remarks and were interviewed by the Committee.

Mayor Nirenberg recommended development of an improved manner for SAWS to communicate and share information with the City Council. City Attorney Segovia stated that his office would work with SAWS to find a solution.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to recommend and forward the reappointments of Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison and Marilu Reyna to the full City Council for consideration. Councilmember Pelaez seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Nirenberg, Rocha Garcia, Cabello Havrda, Pelaez, Courage

3. Reappointments to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees. [Debbie Racca- Sittre, City Clerk]

Mayor Nirenberg asked Athalie Malone and Bob Comeaux to provide a brief statement. Both provided opening remarks and were interviewed by the Committee.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to recommend and forward the appointments of Athalie Malone and Bob Comeaux to the full City Council for consideration. Councilmember Pelaez seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Nirenberg, Rocha Garcia, Cabello Havrda, Pelaez, Courage

## Adjournment

There being no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 11:22 AM.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg, Mayor

Debbie Racca-Sittre City Clerk