City of San Antonio

Public Safety Committee

City Hall Complex
San Antonio, Texas 78205

Tuesday, October 10, 2023 1:30 PM City Hall Complex

The Public Safety Committee will hold its regular meeting in the Council Briefing Room at City Hall beginning at 1:30 PM. Once convened, the Public Safety Committee will take up the following items no sooner than the designated times.

Members of the public can comment or speak on items on the agenda. Public comment will be scheduled during the meeting by the Chair. If an individual signs up to speak on one or more items, all comments will be heard at the same time. To sign up to speak visit Click on meetings and events and select the meeting you’d like to participate in. Sign up to speak or submit a written comment. Questions relating to these rules may be directed to the Office of the City Clerk at (210) 207-7253.

Once a quorum is established, the Public Safety Committee shall consider the following:
Approval of Minutes
Approval of minutes from the September 19, 2023 Public Safety Committee Meeting
Public Comment
Briefing and Possible Action on
Briefing on the Violent Crime Prevention Plan [Maria Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Briefing on the San Antonio Police Department crime statistics for the period of January 2023 to September 2023 and Property Crime Task Force Update. [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Briefing on the recommendation to extend the Body Worn Camera Contract and amend it to include In Car Video and Interview Rooms [Maria Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Executive Session

At any time during the meeting, the Committee may meet in executive session for consultation with the City Attorney's Office concerning attorney client matters under Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code.
Consideration of items for future meetings

The City of San Antonio ensures meaningful access to City meetings, programs and services by reasonably providing: translation and interpretation, materials in alternate formats, and other accommodations upon request. To request these services call (210) 207-2098 or Relay Texas 711 or by requesting these services online at Providing at least 72 hours’ notice will help ensure availability.

Intérpretes en español estarán disponibles durante la junta del consejo de la ciudad para los asistentes que lo requieran. También se proveerán intérpretes para los ciudadanos que deseen exponer su punto de vista al consejo de la ciudad. Para más información, llame al (210) 207-7253
For additional information on any item on this agenda, please visit or call (210) 207-7080.
Public Safety Committee Members
Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6, Chair
Dr. Sukh Kaur, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2 
Marina Alderete Gavito, Dist. 7 | Marc Whyte, Dist. 10

* Other members of City Council may attend to observe, but not vote, on matters before the Committee.

Posted on: 10/06/2023  05:39 PM