City of San Antonio

Public Safety Committee Committee

City Hall Complex
San Antonio, Texas 78205

Tuesday, October 19, 2021 9:30 AM City Hall

The Public Safety Committee will hold its regular meeting in the Council Briefing Room, City Hall beginning at 9:30 AM. Once convened, the Public Safety Committee Committee will take up the following items no sooner than the designated times.

Members of the public can comment on items on the agenda. To submit comments or sign up to speak, please go to and click on the eComment link for instructions. Questions relating to these rules may be directed to the Office of the City Clerk at (210) 207-7253

Once a quorum is established, the Public Safety Committee shall consider the following:
Approval of Minutes
Approval of minutes from the Public Safety Committee meeting on September 21, 2021
Public Comment
Briefing and Possible Action on
Briefing and possible action by the San Antonio Fire Department response times, logistics, personal protective equipment, and mental health programs available to firefighters [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]
Briefing and possible action on Street Racing in San Antonio and discussions on a potential ordinance to enhance the ability of the Police Department to effectively address street racing and individuals that attend these events [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Briefing and possible action on the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS), Community Policing Development (CPD) De-Escalation Training Grant award.  [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Executive Session

At any time during the meeting, the Committee may meet in executive session for consultation with the City Attorney's Office concerning attorney client matters under Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code.
Consideration of items for future meetings
This meeting site is wheelchair accessible. The Accessible Entrance is located at the S. Flores Street Entrance. Auxiliary Aids and Services, including Deaf interpreters, must be requested forty-eight [48] hours prior to the meeting. For assistance, call (210) 207-7268 or 711 Texas Relay Service for the Deaf.

Intérpretes en español estarán disponibles durante la junta del consejo de la ciudad para los asistentes que lo requieran. También se proveerán intérpretes para los ciudadanos que deseen exponer su punto de vista al consejo de la ciudad. Para más información, llame al (210) 207-7253

For additional information on any item on this agenda, please visit or
call (210) 207-7080.
Public Safety Committee Committee Members
Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6, Chair
Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2 | Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3
Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

* Other members of City Council may attend to observe, but not vote, on matters before the Committee.

Posted on: 10/15/2021  06:58 PM