City of San Antonio

Public Safety Committee

City Hall Complex
San Antonio, Texas 78205

Tuesday, September 21, 2021 10:00 AM City Hall

The Public Safety Committee will hold its regular meeting in the Council Briefing Room, City Hall beginning at 10:00 AM. Once convened, the Public Safety Committee Committee will take up the following items no sooner than the designated times.

Members of the public can comment on items on the agenda. To submit comments or sign up to speak, please go to and click on the eComment link for instructions. Questions relating to these rules may be directed to the Office of the City Clerk at (210) 207-7253

Once a quorum is established, the Public Safety Committee shall consider the following:
Approval of Minutes
Approval of minutes August 2, 2021
Briefing and Possible Action on
Briefing, and possible action, on a San Antonio Police Department grant continuance application to the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority (MVCPA) for funds from the Regional Auto Crimes Team Project to fund innovative enforcement and theft prevention techniques in the amount of $815,785.00 [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Briefing, and possible action, on the Complaint and Administrative Review Board (CARB) to fill existing vacancies [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Briefing, and possible action, amending an ordinance restricting registered sex offenders living near city schools [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Briefing on the San Antonio Police Department crime statistics quarterly update [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
Briefing by the Public Works Department and Parks Police on Parks Police Headquarters 2017 Bond Project. [Roderick Sanchez, Assistant City Manager; Razi Hosseini, Director, Public Works]
Executive Session

At any time during the meeting, the Committee may meet in executive session for consultation with the City Attorney's Office concerning attorney client matters under Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code.
Consideration of items for future meetings
This meeting site is wheelchair accessible. The Accessible Entrance is located at the City Hall/N. Flores Entrance. Auxiliary Aids and Services, including Deaf interpreters, must be requested forty-eight [48] hours prior to the meeting. For assistance, call (210) 207-7268 or 711 Texas Relay Service for the Deaf.
Intérpretes en español estarán disponibles durante la junta del consejo de la ciudad para los asistentes que lo requieran. También se proveerán intérpretes para los ciudadanos que deseen exponer su punto de vista al consejo de la ciudad. Para más información, llame al (210) 207-7253
Public Safety Committee Committee Members
Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6, Chair
Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2 | Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3
Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

* Other members of City Council may attend to observe, but not vote, on matters before the Committee.

For additional information on any item on this agenda, please visit or
call (210) 207-7080.