City of San Antonio

Public Safety Committee Meeting

Monday, August 2, 2021 2:30 PM Videoconference

To protect the health of the public and limit the potential spread of COVID-19, the Public Safety Committee Meeting will hold this meeting via videoconference beginning at 2:30 PM. These meeting standards are based upon the various suspended provisions of the Open Meetings Act issued by the Texas Governor in response to the COVID-19 crisis. These modified standards shall remain in place until further notice or until the state disaster declaration expires or is otherwise terminated by the Texas Governor. 

Members of the public can comment on items on the agenda. Public comment will be scheduled during the meeting by the Chair. To submit comments or sign up to speak, please go to and click on the eComment link associated with the agenda for instructions. Questions relating to these rules may be directed to the Office of the City Clerk at (210) 207-7253.

Once a quorum is established, the Public Safety Committee shall consider the following:

Approval of Minutes
Approval of minutes from the Public Safety Committee on June 23, 2021.
Briefing and Possible Action on
Briefing and possible action on the Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute (MMHPI) Final Report on the City of San Antonio first response system [Erik Walsh, City Manager; Claude A. Jacob, Director, San Antonio Metropolitan Health District]
Briefing and possible action on the Update of the Police Services Review Project [Maria Villagomez, Deputy City Manager]
Consideration of items for future meetings
This meeting site is wheelchair accessible. The Accessible Entrance is located at the Municipal Plaza Building / Main Plaza Entrance. Auxiliary Aids and Services, including Deaf interpreters, must be requested forty-eight [48] hours prior to the meeting. For assistance, call (210) 207-7268 or 711 Texas Relay Service for the Deaf.

Intérpretes en español estarán disponibles durante la junta del consejo de la ciudad para los asistentes que lo requieran. También se proveerán intérpretes para los ciudadanos que deseen exponer su punto de vista al consejo de la ciudad. Para más información, llame al (210) 207-7253

Public Safety Committee Meeting
 Committee Members
Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6, Chair
Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2 | Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3
Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

* Other members of City Council may attend to observe, but not vote, on matters before the Committee.